HOME

Orgelfrühling Steiermark

Romantic Organ Music

Günther Kaunzinger
Sunday, 24.10.21 - 16:00

Günther Kaunzinger is as well known as an improviser and virtuoso as he is as a teacher or editor; his extensive discography includes, among others, the complete organ symphonies of Charles-Marie Widor and Louis Vierne, to whose work he feels a special obligation as the 'only German second-generation student'.

In organ building, too, the artist repeatedly made a name for himself by conceptualizing instruments that are characterized above all by their colorful-orchestral disposition and the highest demands on concert-virtuosic playability.
One of these instruments is the Jann organ of the Waldsassen Abbey Basilica (1989), built according to his plans, with 103 stops on six manuals. The recording presented here with works by Julius Reubke, Robert Schumann and Franz Liszt was produced at this organ.


user supplied image
user supplied image


Streaming: Oct. 24 – Nov. 7, 2021

HOME

Orgelfrühling Steiermark

Romantische Orgelmusik

Günther Kaunzinger
Sonntag, 24.10.21 - 16:00

Günther Kaunzinger ist als Improvisator und Virtuose ebenso bekannt wie als Lehrer oder Herausgeber; seine umfangreiche Diskografie umfasst u. a. die gesamten Orgelsymphonien von Charles-Marie Widor und Louis Vierne, dessen Werk er sich als 'einziger deutscher Enkelschüler' in besonderer Weise verpflichtet fühlt.

Auch im Orgelbau profilierte sich der Künstler wiederholt durch die Konzeption von Instrumenten, die sich vor allem durch ihre farbig-orchestrale Disposition und höchste Ansprüche an eine konzertant-virtuose Spielbarkeit auszeichnen.
Eines dieser Instrumente ist die nach seinen Plänen gebaute Jann-Orgel der Stiftsbasilika Waldsassen (1989) mit 103 Registern auf sechs Manualen, an der die hier vorgestellte Aufnahme mit Werken von Julius Reubke, Robert Schumann und Franz Liszt entstand.


user supplied image
user supplied image


Streaming: 24.10. bis 7.11.2021