HOME

Orgelfrühling Steiermark

Adjustable Tempers

Works by Reiko Yamada
Wednesday, 02.06.21 - 20:00

Composer Reiko Yamada, who has repeatedly created commissioned works for the festival Orgelfrühling Steiermark in recent years, was Styrian-Artist-in-Residence (St.A.i.R.) of the Province of Styria in 2018 and also a guest at the Center for Organ Research of the University of Arts Graz, for her artistic research in the fields of imperfection in composition.

At that time, three of her works were premiered as part of the Organ Spring, exploring imperfection in various aspects of the organ: spatial sound distribution, tuning systems, and the mechanics of the organ.

The project Orgelfrühling 2020.2021.transformations now shows a video recording of this exciting performance from the R3 in the Palais Schwarzenberg Graz, for you to re-experience.


user supplied image
user supplied image


Streaming: June 2 to 16, 2021


Introduction by Reiko Yamada

About this Project

My name is Reiko Yamada.
I am a composer for three pieces you are about to experience.
The concert was premiered in June 2018, as a result of collaboration with my dear friends, Christina, Barbara and Aleksey.
The story of this artistic research goes like this:

Once upon a time, multiple tuning systems existed in the Western world. Their coexistence made creating music inconvenient, unpractical, time-consuming and yet diverse. Then, over the centuries, they were gradually all replaced by a single system called equal temperament.
If we, as musicians and listeners, unreflectively accept equal temperament as the only possible tuning system, what else do we accept in the same way?

Using a special organ that allows performer to change its tuning in real time, me, as a composer and my collaborators, as performers, explored those questions through creation and performance.

I hope you enjoy.

Reiko Yamada


About the Works
1/12 of Comma for E-Organ Solo

1/12 of Comma for E-Organ Solo is written for a MIDI-console organ with multi-channel sound projection. 1/12 of comma refers to a resulting distance between pure intonation and the equal temperament (the modern Western tuning system) in the interval of perfect fifth.
In this work full of perfect fifth, the composer seeks the essence of pure intonation by spatializing harmonic contents in multiple ways. In this virtuosic composition, pure intervals are presented in a context of multi-channel sound projections.


524288=531441 for Violin and E-Organ

524288=531441 for Violin and E-Organ is written for an E-Organ with DynTune system.
DynTune allows performers for realtime modifications of organ temperament using a foot pedal.
Organ as a temperamentally fixed instrument transforms into an unfixed instrument just like a violin in this work.
Two instrumentalists are asked constantly to adjust their intonations to be in or out of tune to each other, and therefore represent our great struggle and imperfect solutions to musical temperaments.
The numbers 524288 and 531441 together refer to Phytagorian comma, one of the discrepancies in the pure intonation tuning.


7:8 for Dancer and Electronics

7:8 for Dancer and Electronics was co-created with performance artist Christina Lederhaas. The simple acoustic ratio of 7:8 falls in-between major second and minor third, unable to fit in the conventional Western 12-note tuning system. By using the mechanics of the organ in relation to the human body as an inspiration, this collaborative creation strives to find un-named connections between sounds and movements of the organ performance in a subtle space of in-between media.



Artists

Reiko Yamada, compositions
Aleksey Vylegzhanin, digital organ
Barbara Lüneburg, violin
Christina Lederhaas, performance art

Sponsor

ICFO – The Institute of Photonic Sciences, Barcelona

ICFO

HOME

Orgelfrühling Steiermark

Wechselnde Stimmungen

Werke von Reiko Yamada
Mittwoch, 02.06.21 - 20:00

Die Komponistin Reiko Yamada, die in den letzten Jahren immer wieder Auftragswerke für den Orgelfrühling Steiermark geschaffen hat, war in 2018 Styrian-Artist-in-Residence (St.A.i.R.) des Landes Steiermark und Gast am Zentrum für Orgelforschung der Kunstuniversität Graz, für ihre künstlerischen Forschungen im Bereich der Imperfektion in der Komposition.

Damals wurden drei ihrer Werke im Rahmen des Orgelfrühlings uraufgeführt, die die Imperfektion bei verschiedenen Aspekten der Orgel erkunden: räumliche Klangverteilung, Stimmungssysteme und die Mechanik der Orgel.

Das Projekt Orgelfrühling 2020.2021.transformationen bringt nun einen Video-Live-Mitschnitt dieser spannenden Aufführung aus dem R3 des Grazer Palais Schwarzenberg zum Nachhören und -erleben.


user supplied image
user supplied image



Streaming: 2. bis 16. Juni 2021


Einführung von Reiko Yamada

Zu diesem Projekt

Mein Name ist Reiko Yamada.
Ich bin die Komponistin der drei Stücke, die Sie gleich erleben werden.
Das Konzert wurde im Juni 2018 uraufgeführt, als Ergebnis der Zusammenarbeit mit meinen lieben Freund_innen Christina, Barbara und Aleksey.
Die Geschichte dieser künstlerischen Forschung ist Folgende:

Einst gab es in der westlichen Welt mehrere Stimmungssysteme.
Ihre Koexistenz machte das Erschaffen von Musik unbequem, unpraktisch, zeitaufwendig und dennoch vielfältig. Im Laufe der Jahrhunderte wurden sie dann nach und nach alle durch ein einziges System, die „gleichschwebende Stimmung“ ersetzt.
Wenn wir als Musikschaffende und -hörende unreflektiert die gleichschwebende Stimmung als einzig mögliches Stimmsystem akzeptieren, was akzeptieren wir dann sonst noch auf diese Art?

Unter Verwendung einer speziellen Orgel, die es dem Interpreten erlaubt, ihre Stimmung in Echtzeit zu verändern, haben ich als Komponistin und die Mitwirkenden als Interpret_innen diese Fragen durch Kreation und Aufführung erforscht.

Ich wünsche Ihnen viel Spaß.

Reiko Yamada

Zu den einzelnen Werken
1/12 Komma für E-Orgel solo

1/12 Komma für E-Orgel solo ist für einen MIDI-Spieltisch mit Multikanal-Klangprojektion geschrieben. 1/12 Komma bezieht sich auf den entstehenden Abstand zwischen reiner Intonation und gleichschwebender Stimmung (dem modernen westlichen Stimmungssystem) beim Intervall der reinen Quinte.
Dieses von der perfekten Quinte geprägte Werk geht auf die Suche nach der Essenz der reinen Stimmung, indem harmonische Inhalte auf vielfältige Weise räumlich verteilt werden. In dieser virtuosen Komposition werden reine Intervalle in den Kontext von Multikanal-Klangprojektionen gestellt.


524288=531441 für Violine und E-Orgel

524288=531441 für Violine und E-Orgel ist für eine E-Orgel mit DynTune-System geschrieben.
DynTune gestattet der/dem SpielerIn, die Stimmung der Orgel mithilfe eines Fußpedals in Echtzeit zu modifizieren. Die Orgel als Instrument mit vorgegebener Stimmung wandelt sich in diesem Werk zu einem Instrument mit flexibler Stimmung, genau wie eine Violine.
Zwei InstrumentalistInnen sollen ihre Intonation fortwährend anpassen, um entweder gestimmt oder verstimmt zueinander zu spielen. Dadurch stehen sie für unsere großen Bemühungen und die unvollkommenen Lösungen in Bezug auf musikalische Stimmungen.
Die beiden Zahlen 524288 und 531441 beziehen sich auf das pythagoreische Komma, eine der Abweichungen im reinen Stimmungssystem.


7:8 für Tänzerin und Elektronik

7:8 für Tänzerin und Elektronik entstand in Zusammenarbeit mit der Performancekünstlerin Christina Lederhaas. Das einfache akustische Verhältnis 7:8 fällt zwischen die große Sekunde und die kleine Terz und passt nicht in das gebräuchliche westliche 12-Ton-Stimmungssystem. Inspiriert von der Nutzung der Orgelmechanik im Vergleich zum menschlichen Körper, möchte dieses gemeinsame Werk im feinen Raum zwischen verschiedenen Medien namenlose Beziehungen zwischen Klängen und Bewegungen der Orgel-Performance ausfindig machen.



Mitwirkende

Reiko Yamada, Kompositionen
Aleksey Vylegzhanin, E-Orgel
Barbara Lüneburg, Violine
Christina Lederhaas, Performance

Sponsor

ICFO – The Institute of Photonic Sciences, Barcelona

ICFO